M. P. A. Hankey. R. R. Scott. John Jeffrey. Rupert B. Howorth.  $Ellis\;Hume ext{-}Williams.$ J. H. Penson. H. R. Boyd. H. F. Batterbee. H. A. Strutt. Colin Smith. George Penny. F. D. Acland. Amulree.Mark L. Romer. Malcolm A. Robertson. Denman. Midleton. W. G. Nicholson. Merrivale. J. Locker-Lampson. Arthur Griffith-Boscawen. Sankey. Hugh Cecil. A. F. London. C. A. Montague Barlow. J. H. Thomas. John Tilley. John W. Hills. Maugham. R. McKenna. Donoughmore. Cecil. Atholl. William Erskine. Alexander Hardinge. Noel Buxton. St. Davids. Herbert Morrison. Maurice Gwyer. H. A. L. Fisher. Granville.

At the Court at St. James's, the 12th day of December, 1936.

GOD SAVE THE KING.

Lugard.

## PRESENT,

The KING's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

HIS Majesty, being this day present in Council, was pleased to make the following Declaration:

Your Royal Highnesses, My Lords and Gentlemen:

I meet you to-day in circumstances which are without parallel in the history of our Country. Now that the duties of Sovereignty have fallen to Me I declare to you My adherence to the strict principles of constitutional government and My resolve to work before all else for the welfare of the British Commonwealth of Nations.

With My Wife as helpmeet by My side, I take up the heavy task which lies before Me. In it I look for the support of all My Peoples.

Furthermore, My first act on succeeding My Brother will be to confer on Him a Dukedom and He will henceforth be known as His Royal Highness The Duke of Windsor.

Whereupon the Lords of the Council made it their humble request to His Majesty that His Majesty's Most Gracious Declaration to Their Lordships might be made public, which His Majesty was pleased to order accordingly.

M. P. A. Hankey.

At the Court at St. James's, the 12th day of December, 1936.

PRESENT. The KING's Most Excellent Majesty. Royal Highness  $\mathbf{The}$ Duke of Gloucester. His Royal Highness Prince Arthur of Connaught. Archbishop of Canterbury. Archbishop of York. Prime Minister. Lord President. Mr. Speaker of the House of Commons. Lord Privy Seal. Earl Marshal. Master of the Horse. Duke of Devonshire. Duke of Atholl. Marquess of Huntly. Marquess of Salisbury. Marquess of Londonderry. Marquess of Zetland. Marquess of Crewe.
Marquess of Willingdon. Lord Chamberlain. Earl of Crawford and Balcarres. Earl Stanhope. Earl De La Warr. Earl of Bessborough. Earl Winterton. Earl of Donoughmore. Earl of Onslow. Earl Granville. Earl of Lytton. Earl of Liverpool. Earl of Athlone. Earl of Midleton. Lord Richard Cavendish. Lord Eustace Percy. Viscount Goschen. Viscount Wimborne. Viscount St. Davids. Viscount FitzAlan of Derwent. Viscount Cecil of Chelwood. Viscount Dunedin. Viscount Sankey. Viscount Swinton. Viscount Dawson of Penn. Lord Stanley. Viscount Wolmer. Lord Hugh Cecil. Bishop of London.

Lord Denman.

Lord Weir.

Lord Ernle.

Lord Stanmore. Lord Southborough.

Lord Inverforth.

Lord Illingworth.

Lord Daryngton.

Lord Merrivale.

Lord Lloyd.

Lord Atkin.

Lord Stonehaven.

Lord Blanesburgh.

Lord Mildmay of Flete.

Lord Hewart.